Throwing off my Labels

Labels… we all have them. What I realized after reading chapter 3 of Unglued is that some of the most hurtful labels are the ones I placed on myself. Many of these labels are also ones I hear my tweens saying about themselves. WHAT!!!! They are 10 years old and calling themselves stupid, I DON’T THINK SO!!! Chapter 3 has just become a family chapter. Sticky notes around the house,

“Labels only stick if I let them!”,

“A soul who believes she can’t leave…doesn’t”,

“Oh God, chisel me. I don’t want to be locked in my hard places forever.”

I absolutely cannot allow this pain and suffering to infect another generation of women. Going to fight with all that I am to be the best example of a woman that throws off all my labels. The only labels my daughters will wear are…

I am the daughter of Christ.

I am beautiful from the inside out.

I am smart.

I am funny.

I can do anything.

2 thoughts on “Throwing off my Labels

  1. Thank you so much for sharing. I certainly know what you mean about passing on labels to daughters. I have two grown girls and I see them struggling with some of the same things I do. Pray that I will be able to reverse this in their lives.

  2. Love this! Admire your determination to make things different for your daughters by helping them to see themselves positively… from Christ’s perspective.

Leave a Reply

